Posted on

Careful what you wish for.

Today’s cliche is “Careful what you wish for”.

I feel mixed about this one. A couple of friends have said this to me since I told them of my ideas about poly relationships.

Is it about stopping people having dreams and plans outside of the norm? Is it fear of doing ‘other’? Or, just good advice?

Not sure. There’s something a little defensive about it, I think.

2 responses to “Careful what you wish for.

  1. I’ve always thought it meant we may wish for something, without knowing what the wish can bring. It went well with that whole saying of ‘the grass is not always greener on the other side’.
    Or the whole horrifying idea of the genie in the bottle, and three tricky wishes. Should we have educated wishes? That sounds pretty dull, and way to safe.

    Like you said playing it safe makes it really hard to dream. But I’d say even if the other side of the hill isn’t as green, maybe it’s more shady, or has colorful flowers. And if a genie offered me three wishes I’d still take the risk. Life would be pretty terrible if we were all to scared to make a wish, and dream.

    But, we just have to make sure: 1. We value what we do have. (The friends, family, the present) 2. We make plans but be willing to change them. (Be Open minded to change) 3. Take responsibility for our choices. (Make sure our wishes aren’t selfish or hurtful)

    Ultimately, I think your friends were giving you good advice, by reminding you that what you think you wish for, might not be what you get. The unknown is always a bit risky.

  2. missguide

    Thanks, that certainly is food for thought & I agree 🙂

    Coincidentally, I wrote about the grass being greener on the other side here: https://mascarastreaks.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/the-grass-being-greener-on-the-other-side/

    It’s not easy finding the right balance between fear and excitement, I guess. Feel the fear & do it anyway!

Leave a Reply

